

Illinois ITBE is proud to announce the winners of the 2018 Elementary Poetry Contest. There were a total of 190 entries. Congratulations to the 15 teacher sponsors and the writers of the winning poems!

		Gail LoBue	Clifford Johnson Elementary, Warrenville
Andrea Barbel	Clifford Johnson Elementay School, Warrenville	Camilla Lopez	Bower Elementary School, Warrenville
Brian Clark	Washington Elementary, Wheaton	Allison Pfaff	Tate Woods Elementary School, Lisle
Donna DeVito	Madison School, Hinsdale	Ewa Pitcher	Willow Bend, Rolling Meadows
Susan Kim	Stratton Academy of the Arts, Champaign	Lauren Pupillo	Tate Woods Elementary School, Lisle
Melissa Koenig	Washingtom Elementary School, Wheaton	Asma Qazi	York Center Elementary, Lombard
Amy Kovarik	Washington Elementary School, Wheaton	Kimberly Seaman	Pleasant Hill, Winfield
Alison LaManna	Pleasant Hill, Winfield	Jo Turner	Lowell Elementary, Wheaton

Newcomer Award of Merit

This is the third year that ITBE has given out this award to one student per grade level. In order to qualify for this award, judges chose a student who had attended school in the U.S. for twelve months or less. (This information was taken off of the cover sheet.) In addition, the student did not place first or second place in any category of this year's poetry contest.

Grade level	Winner	Sponsoring Teacher	Teacher		
Second Grade	Samuel Gurrola Alanis	Allison Pfaff	Tate Woods Elementary School		
Third Grade	Zhuoyan Chen	Donna DeVito	Madison School		
Fourth Grade	Sang Pi	Kimberly Seaman	Pleasant Hill Elementary		
Fifth Grade	Rama Marellapudi	Camilla Lopez	Bower Elementary School		

Second Grade Winners

Type of Poem	Placement	Title	Student's Name	Sponsoring Teacher	School
Acrostic	First Place	Tamales	Andrew Garcia	Gail LoBue	Johnson Elementary School
Acrostic	Second Place	Trezina	Trezina Alley	Jo Turner	Lowell Elementary
Bio	First Place	Augustyn	Augustyn Dzieniowski	Amy Kovarik	Washington Elementary School
Bio	Second Place	Frank	Frank Solano	Amy Kovarik	Washington Elementary School
Diamante	First Place	Cricket/Soccer	Aayan Tareen	Donna DeVito	Madison School
Diamante	Second Place	India-United States	Samhitha Jaliparthi	Donna DeVito	Madison School
Open	First Place	Soccer	Jose Garcia	Allison Pfaff	Tate Woods Elementary School
Open	Second Place	One Star	Zaid Ghanem	Lauren Pupillo	Tate Woods Elementary School
Haiku	First Place	Sharks	Timur Turba	Donna DeVito	Madison School
Haiku	Second Place	No Additional Entries			
Open	First Place	No Entries			

Third Grade Winners

Acrostic	First Place	Baseball	Joseph Cuazitl Tochimani	Andrea Barbel	Clifford Johnson Elementay School
Acrostic	Second Place	BROTHER	Taj Syeda Unissa	Asma Qazi	York Center Elementary School
Bio	First Place	Dalilah's Bio Poem	Dalilah Herrera	Melissa Koenig	Washingtom Elementary School
Bio	Second Place	Krystian's Bio Poem	Krystian Mostowski	Amy Kovarik	Washingtom Elementary School
Diamante	First Place	China/United States	Angelina Wu	Donna DeVito	Madison School
Diamante	Second Place	Chicago/Ulan Bator	Bold Shagai Enkhbat	Ewa Pitcher	Willow Bend
Haiku	First Place	Bison	Wiktor Kawula	Donna DeVito	Walker School
Haiku	Second Place	Snakes	Pramisha Puwar	Alison LaManna	Pleasant Hill Elementary School
Open	First Place	Burma/Mayanmar	Khin Rose (Rosie) Sar	Jo Turner	Lowell Elementary School
Open	Second Place	Family	Issa Chamali	Ewa Pitcher	Willow Bend Elementary School

Fourth Grade Winners

Acrostic	First Place	Christmas	Hillary Mora	Andrea Barbel	Clifford Johnson Elementary School
Acrostic	Second Place	Gerardo	Gerardo Gonzalez	Andrea Barbel	Clifford Johnson Elementary School
Bio	First Place	Karim	Karim Abusaman	Brian Clark	Washington Elementary School
Bio	Second Place	Amaris	Amaris Guadarrama	Brian Clark	Washington Elementay School

Diamante	First Place	Mexican Chips/American Chips	Genaro Ramirez Jr.	Andrea Barbel	Clifford Johnson Elementary School.
Diamante	Second Place	Iraqui Music American Music	Zainab Al Khateeb	Alison LaManna	Pleasant Hill Elementary
Haiku	First Place	Spring Trees	Mechac Lukombo	Susan Kim	Stratton Academy of the Arts
Haiku	Second Place	Vietnam	Haden Bien	Susan Kim	Stratton Academy of the Arts
Open	First Place	No Entries			

Fifth Grade Winners

Acrostic	First Place	Love	Jaqueline Garcia	Andrea Barbel	Clifford Johnson Elementary School
Acrostic	Second Place	Airplanes	Sungjoon Yoon	Susan Kim	Stratton Academy of the Arts
Bio	First Place	Arturo	Arturo Rubio	Gail LoBue	Johnson Elementary School
Bio	Second Place	Lazaro	Lazaro Mino	Gail LoBue	Johnson Elementary School
Diamante	First Place	School	Peter (Thian Lian) Mang	Camilla Lopez	Bower Elementary School
Diamante	Second Place	No Additional Entries			
Haiku	First Place	Winter	Zach Alyahya	Kimberly Seaman	Pleasant Hill Elementary School
Haiku	Second Place	The Old Tree	Dhruv Shukla	Kimberly Seaman	Pleasant Hill Elementary School
Open	First Place	No Entries			

We hope that this contest has encouraged your students to express themselves through writing poetry and you have been able to learn more about your students.

Angie Remigio & Margaret Gigous Elementary SIG Co-Chairs (aremigio@lisle202.org)

Poetry Contest Committee

A special thank you to all of the individuals on the committee who volunteered their time to judge, type, or shop in order to make this contest a success!

Marjeta Bejdo, Vladimir Bejdo, Lizette Remgio, Joanna Ng,

Maria Matariyeh, Monica Valdez, Elizabeth Parker