Connect with us:

ITBE Officers

Illinois TESOL-BE's Board also consists of Elected and Appointed Executive Board Members and SIG Leaders. For more information on each Board position, view TESOL-BE's Constitution and Bylaws webpages.

Shane Dunkle, President

Shane Dunkle received his B.A. from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign in English Literature in 2001 and his M.A. from the University of Illinois at Chicago in Linguistics/TESOL in 2012. He has been teaching ESL for over 15 years, half of which were spent in Japan and half of which were spent in the United States. He is currently teaching at the English Language Institute at the University of Chicago. He is very interested in what role culture plays in language acquisition and how non-traditional narratives can help ELLs reading skills. He has served on ITBE's board since 2012.

Cory Long, Vice President; Convention Chair
Contact: or 

Cory Long is an ESL teaching professional with 10 years of experience in ESL.  He received his B.A. in English Studies and Japanese in 2007 and his M.A. TESOL in 2009 from Ball State University.  He has taught in Japan and China as well as the United States.  He is currently teaching at Harper College and Oakton Community College.  His academic interests lie in helping students learn through interaction with various media and in advocating for the rights of learners and teachers of every type.  He has been a board member of ITBE since 2012.

Lisa Barrett, Past President